Ellen H. Block Joins Council


The Foundation is pleased to announce that Ellen H. Block has joined our Council. Members of the Foundation Council serve as goodwill ambassadors, advance our message, and connect us to other people who should hear our story. Ellen is a registered occupational therapist, small business owner, and an active philanthropist from Palm Beach, Florida. She is engaged in a wide range of societal and community-related issues locally, nationally, and globally.

“We all know people suffering from disease and know the emotional, physical, and financial stress that they and their families experience with traditional treatments–the anesthesia, surgery, scars, and lengthy radiation therapy,” said Mrs. Block. “Imagine the relief that focused ultrasound can provide. This is why it is important to me to help accelerate the adoption and use of focused ultrasound worldwide, and to support the discovery of new applications for this amazing technology.”

Mrs. Block is Chair of the Board of Overseers at the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy at Tufts University and serves on the Board of Overseers of the Heller School of Social Policy and Management at Brandeis University.

Mrs. Block also serves on the Boards of the University of Chicago Medical Center, the Toy Industry Foundation, the Steering Committee of the Jewish Women’s Foundation of Metropolitan Chicago, and the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee. In addition, she has served as Chair of the Hasbro Children’s Foundation, a director of the Taylor Institute Think Tank on Urban Issues, and co-Founder and Chair of the September 11th Children’s Fund.

In recognition of her philanthropic leadership, Mrs. Block was named one of the “100 Women Making a Difference” by Today’s Chicago Woman magazine in 2011 and has received many awards, including the Children’s Aid Society’s Charles Loring Brace Award, the National Hannah Solomon Award, and the 2010 TAGIE Humanitarian Award. Mrs. Block is a graduate of Tufts University and received an Honorary Doctorate from the Audrey Cohen College for Social Research.